Foundation Staff

Allan Northcott


Prior to joining Max Bell Foundation in 1998, Allan was a member of the academic staff at the University of Illinois and the University of Calgary, and was a member of the research staff at Canada West Foundation. He has served as an advisor and on the boards of a number of non-profit organizations. He currently serves as a member of the boards of directors of both Imagine Canada and Philanthropic Foundations Canada.

David Elton, Ph.D.

Special Advisor

David Elton is a professor emeritus of the University of Lethbridge, where he was a faculty member for 27 years. From 1980 to 1997, he served as President of Canada West Foundation, a Calgary-based public policy think tank. From 1997-2016, he was President of Max Bell Foundation. He continues to serve on the Boards of a number of national research and public-policy oriented organizations.

Margaret Herriman

Program Officer

Before joining Max Bell Foundation in 2016, Margaret worked in communications, fund development, and program delivery at several of Calgary’s non-profits, including YMCA Calgary, the University of Calgary, and Glenbow Ranch Park Foundation. She earned a Bachelor of Journalism from the University of King’s College and a Master of Arts in history from the University of Calgary.

Arlene McCarry

Grants Coordinator/Administrator

Prior to joining Max Bell Foundation in February 2020, Arlene worked with a grants management consulting organization. Her expertise includes grants and office management, human resources, supervision, and administration. She enjoys being a part of the non-profit sector and the opportunity to contribute to making a difference in people’s lives.

Foundation Directors

Ms. Brenda Eaton, Chair 
(2006 – present)
Victoria, BC
Corporate Director
Mr. Ken Marra, Vice-Chair 
(2000 – present)
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Grandson of Max Bell
Dr. Paul Boothe
(2016 – present)
London, Ontario
Managing Director, Trillium Network for Advanced Manufacturing
Professor Christopher Manfredi
(2015 – present)
Montreal, Quebec
Provost, McGill University
Ms. Margaret-Jean Mannix
(2019 – present)
Calgary, Alberta
Chairman, Loram 99 Corporation
Ms. Donna Miller
(2019 – present)
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Mr. Doug Moen
(2018 – present)
Regina, Saskatchewan
Director, Executive Education, Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Member Emeritus

Ms. Diane D. Marra (1982 – 2002) Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Daughter of Max Bell), fondly remembered

Former Directors

Mr. Robert J. Ritchie
(1997 – 1999)
Calgary, Alberta
(President and CEO of CP Rail)
Mr. W. J. Bushnell 
Toronto, Ontario
Rt. Hon. Roland D. Michener 
(1976 – 1986)
Ottawa, Ontario
(Former Governor-General of Canada)
Dr. David L. Johnston 
(1986 – 1994)
Montreal, Quebec
(Appointed by McGill University)
Dr. Charles E. Michener 
(1986 – 1996)
Toronto, Ontario
(Brother-in-Law of Max Bell)
Mr. David Kerr 
(1994 – 1997)
Toronto, Ontario
(Appointed by McGill University)
Dr. Michael Walker
(1996 – 2003)
Vancouver, British Columbia
(founding Executive Director, Fraser Institute)
Mr. Ronald N. Mannix 
(1985 – 2005)
Calgary, Alberta
(Family friend)
Mr. Allan Taylor
(1996 – 2005)
Toronto, Ontario
(Former Chairman & CEO, Royal Bank)
Mr. Larry Bell 
(2004 – 2006)
Vancouver, BC
(Chair, BC Hydro)
Dr. Bernard Shapiro 
(1999 – 2003)
Montreal, Quebec
(Principal, McGill University)
Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum 
(2003 – 2007)
Montreal, Quebec
(Principal, McGill University)
Mr. Tom d’Aquino
(2005 – 2010)
Toronto, Ontario
(President, Canadian Council of Chief Executives)
Dr. Morton Mendelson
(2008 – 2010)
Montreal, Quebec
(Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning), McGill University)
Professor Tony Masi
(2009 – 2015)
Montreal, Quebec
Provost, McGill University
 Mr. Michael Wilson
(2010 – 2015)
Toronto, Ontario
Canadian diplomat, politician and business leader
Ms. Carol Hill 
(1996 – 2017)
Regina, Saskatchewan
McCallum Hill Companies
Ms. Carolyn Hursh
(1998 – 2019)
Calgary, Alberta
Chair, James Richardson & Sons, Limited
Mr. Jim Gray
(2005 – 2019)
Calgary, Alberta
Community Leader

First Directors

Dr. John J. Deutsch 
(1972 – 1976)
Kingston, Ontario
(Long-time friend of Max Bell)
Mr. George R. Gardiner 
(1972 – 1996)
Toronto, Ontario
(Business partner of Max Bell)
Mr. Richard S. Malone 
(1972 – 1985)
Toronto, Ontario
(Business associate of Max Bell)
Hon. James Richardson 
(1972 – 1997)
Winnipeg, Manitoba (Friend of Max Bell)
Mr. George N.M. Currie
(1972 – 1985)
Montreal, Quebec
(Appointed by McGill University)

Chairs of the Board

  • Mr. George R. GardinerPresident (1974 – 1989)
  • Hon. James RichardsonChairman (1989 – 1996)
  • Mr. Ronald N. MannixChairman (1996 – 2004)
  • Ms. Carolyn HurshChair (2004 – 2019)
  • Ms. Brenda EatonChair (2019 – present)

Foundation Presidents

  • Mr. George R. GardinerPresident (1974 – 1989)
  • Mr. Donald S. RickerdPresident (1989 – 1997)
  • Dr. David K. EltonPresident (1997 – 2016)
  • Mr. Allan NorthcottPresident (2017 – present)